Tempus Fugit…

“Sed fugit interea fugit irreparabile tempus, singula dum capti circumvectamur amore.” -Virgil.Backwards Clock

Translated it approximates to “But meanwhile it flees: time flees irretrievably, while we wander around, prisoners of our love of detail.”

How quickly our life unfolds around us whilst we often try too hard just to keep pace with the demands of the modern world.

We live in a new age, a world that is connected by a super-information highway.

Not too many years ago if we wanted to know something we went to a library and looked it up in a book, now we have Google (other search engines are available – just Google for them !). When we wanted to tell somebody something we wrote a letter (yes children we actually sat down and wrote on paper because it is so much more personal and meaningful) or we actually spoke to them on the telephone.  We did this rather than quickly type out ever more incomprehensible TLA’s (Three Letter Abbreviations !) on the keypads of our smartphones the preference now to send a text instead because it’s quicker.

We should therefore have more time but instead we appear to have less. Life has been speeded up but that only means the demands on it have followed suit. Everyone wants more, they want it in more depth, they want it faster, they want it now. Particularly in my work I find I can be the same – I wish sometimes I wasn’t so impatient.

However the reality is I don’t want my life to fly past in a blur…I want to take the time to enjoy it, most of all to enjoy the times with the people that mean the most to me. All too soon they, like me, will be gone but time will still be around.

And thus I will from now on be making a conscious effort…taking the time out from the humdrum of pure existence and making sure I try to give my time to people – slowing my world down wherever I can.

Spending time with people you care about is the best cure for the sickness the world creates in you…it relieves the stress, it makes you smile, it makes you feel human again not like an automaton just going through the motions.

So no more Tempus Fugit for me…I have a new motto…Tempus Tardus

About Rob

If you want to know more about what goes on in the chemical soup that I call a brain then have a trawl through my blog where my life to a degree is unveiled. Enjoy my life - I'm trying to. Rob
This entry was posted in My Ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment