Wheels on fire ?

I believe most children (well most boys at any rate) will have played at some point with Hot Wheels the toy from Mattel.

I can remember getting a few sets for various Xmas / Birthday presents – some just a basic oval some a bit more advanced in that there was a jump or even a loop allowing the cars for a fraction of a second to effectively defy gravity.

Well at the X-Games someone decided that it would become not just a small boy toy anymore but a BIG BOY toy.

Roller Coaster engineers recreated one of the double loops in full size and two dare defying drivers drove actual cars on the scaled up Hot Wheels track looping the loop and leaping themselves (and their cars) into the record books. Travelling at the prescribed 52mph they experienced G-Forces of circa 7G something normally only experienced by fighter pilots or astronauts.

The challenge saw the pair racing to finish first in a head-to-head, with the host of Top Gear US  ‘Tanner Foust’ representing the “Yellow Team” and ‘Greg Tracy’ the “Green Team”.

All it took was a great deal of creativity and a lot of hard work and it took these two to a place as a child I would never of dreamed of !

I would never have imagined that this would even be attempted for real , let alone actually work but you can witness the event below.

About Rob

If you want to know more about what goes on in the chemical soup that I call a brain then have a trawl through my blog where my life to a degree is unveiled. Enjoy my life - I'm trying to. Rob
This entry was posted in My Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wheels on fire ?

  1. Eleenie says:

    Wow, who thinks these things up?! That was very impressive, do you think they will recreate a scalextric track next with real slot cars? If so, I’ll have my rubber (eraser) at the ready!

  2. Eleenie says:

    Just showed this to hubby, he wants to build one in the garden! 😉

Leave a comment