What day is it ?

Monday icon

Today is Monday and according to international standard ISO 8601 Monday is the first day of the work week !

Now I’m no rocket scientist but I’d kind of figured that one out anyway.

ISO 8601 Data elements and interchange formats – Information interchange – Representation of dates and times is an international standard covering the exchange of date and time-related data.

ISO 8601 carries on with a description about week numbers …

There are mutually equivalent descriptions of week 01:

  • the week with the year’s first Thursday in it (the formal ISO definition),
  • the week with 4 January in it,
  • the first week with the majority (four or more) of its days in the starting year, and
  • the week starting with the Monday in the period 29 December – 4 January.

If 1 January is on a Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday, it is in week 01. If 1 January is on a Friday, Saturday or Sunday, it is in week 52 or 53 of the previous year (there is no week 00). 28 December is always in the last week of its year.

The week number can be described by counting the Thursdays: week 12 contains the 12th Thursday of the year.

So now you know…someone has taken the trouble to document all of this (and much much more) and make it an international standard – I would have thought it would have been easier just to look at a calendar as for example personally I have no idea how many Thursdays have passed since the beginning of the year.

What does this actually mean to me…

Well as I have bothered to find out and write about it, maybe all it means is this particular Monday morning I have way to much time on my hands – wonder what the ISO for that one is ?

About Rob

If you want to know more about what goes on in the chemical soup that I call a brain then have a trawl through my blog where my life to a degree is unveiled. Enjoy my life - I'm trying to. Rob
This entry was posted in My Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What day is it ?

  1. I just wanted to let you know that I nominated you for the versatile blogger award.

Leave a Reply

