Should I stay or should I go ?

exit signFacebook is a prime example of that there comes a time in everyone’s life when you realise it is the moment to evaluate and filter your ‘friends’.  Have any of you seen the note that goes along the lines of ‘Hi, I am currently clearing out my contacts, would you like to remain ?’

Now I have only seen one of these that was posted on my friends wall by him and because I hardly ever check out Facebook anymore actually missed the deadline to accept but am however still down with him as a friend – so despite me not answering he didn’t delete me from his list (which I’m glad of). This did get me thinking – why would you ever need to reply to a message like that as if they classed you as a friend why would they ever consider deleting you anyway?  These posts I believe generally are because it is just easier to post a global message rather than send individual mails and it less demoralising I guess than being told outright that they don’t want you as a friend anymore.

Personally at my stage of life I can count on two hands – maybe if I am being brutal, even one; who I believe my true friends are. I believe instead I have (like many people) lots of those who should technically be only termed acquaintances.

When you are young everyone appears to be your friend and then as you grow up, you realise that people sometimes are just meant to cross paths for a short time and not travel the road we call life together forever.

The best way to see who is worthy of your friendship and who is not is to try to find out who you are first, who is the real you, what do you want; as once you can do that, theoretically, everything else will eventually fall into place. It maybe that soon after you have filtered out those no longer worthy of your time, you may find yourself to be lonely because you have less ‘friends’. It is a prime case of deciding with certain people, in the words of Joe Strummer… “Should I stay or should I go”.

But in the end it is all worth it and now you find those you wish to be true friends, those you can commit time to – those who you want to spend time with. All you have to hope for is they feel the same.

If so then your true friends forever and always stay true, eventually things do get easier, but to do so they always have to get harder first.

About Rob

If you want to know more about what goes on in the chemical soup that I call a brain then have a trawl through my blog where my life to a degree is unveiled. Enjoy my life - I'm trying to. Rob
This entry was posted in My Ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Should I stay or should I go ?

  1. Some good points.
    Did you read my last post – I mentioned your blog.

    • Rob says:

      Hi, just catching up now as it happens…thanks for the mention, I post for my own benefit (so I can look back in years to come) but really appreciate those who take the time to read it and for those such as yourself that take even more time out to comment. Thanks once again and just so you know I enjoy reading yours too

Leave a Reply

