Freshly pressed

Mug of coffeeI love coffee and although I am quite capable of making it myself I love to visit coffee shops and have some proper stuff.

I don’t mean that I don’t have some decent coffee at home but what I don’t have is one of the super-de-duper barista machines that ensure not just the coffee is tamped right (apparently 30lbs of pressure) but produce a concentrated coffee at a consistent temperature of between 85 – 90 degrees centigrade under at least 9 atmospheres of pressure (yes I looked it up….maybe I’m a true coffee-holic).

I can’t do this at home, not just because of the machine I don’t possess, the nearest equivalent being our coffee-pod based machine, but even if I did, like that one I wouldn’t be able to have out on the countertop as that would make the kitchen “too cluttered” (that by the way is my wife speaking not me – I’d have all of the gadgets out all of the time).

So I’m afraid it’s the compromise for me…mainly instant, interspersed with the occasional pod variant (not too often as our machine lives most of its life abandoned in the garage – which incidentally isn’t clutter free due to all the kitchen gadgets that have been moved there !)

I suppose at least proper coffee, professionally made, then becomes what it should be, a treat to be enjoyed, to be savoured rather than just seen as a beverage to quench my thirst.

About Rob

If you want to know more about what goes on in the chemical soup that I call a brain then have a trawl through my blog where my life to a degree is unveiled. Enjoy my life - I'm trying to. Rob
This entry was posted in My Ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Freshly pressed

  1. ailsapm says:

    Love it, Rob. If ever a post deserved to be freshly pressed, it is this 🙂

Leave a Reply

