Blue Sky Day

I remember a phrase from a business meeting I attended where they put aside a time they called Blue Sky Thinking.

For those unaware, basically the concept was to generate as many ideas as possible however off-the-wall or seemingly impractical. Yes I know it’s a bit ‘Corporate’ and miles away from the person I am, but I felt impelled to join in – funnily enough none of my ideas were used, in fact few were even put on the flip chart (somewhat defeating the object in my eyes) – although perhaps on reflection I should have not taken the off-the-wall / impractical context so literally !

So I thought today could be my own Blue Sky Day and regarding my blog to write down for you readers what the first ten things I thought of. These were :

  1. Invisibility – a sort of euphemism for how I sometimes feel, not a superpower I want to necessarily master
  2. Why isn’t instant coffee instant..it seems to takes ages to boil the kettle before I can fill the cup
  3. Why does the washing machine appear to eat just one of my socks at a time ?
  4. Cheese – no idea why.. just cheese
  5. Will I be able once again to slam dunk a basketball ? – this white man used to be able to jump
  6. Why someone once thought of milking a cow, then someone else tried goats. What makes me wonder is what ani­mals were tried and not succeeded with first ?
  7. Which would give me the best success rate– wishing on a star, making a wish while blowing out birthday candles, throwing coins into a wishing well or just wishing ?
  8. Do shoe repairers always have to offer a sideline of cutting keys – or is that just a bunch of cobblers ?
  9. Is the lottery just a stealth tax for people bad at maths ?
  10. Why hasn’t the kettle boiled yet ?
  11. Why did I pick ten things ? And why is eleven not pronounced ten-ety one ?

So there you have it….proof that my thoughts are as random as my blog posts.

But then that’s consistency in action but saying that how can consistency be random ? – ouch my head hurts, it’s much too early for philosophy !

About Rob

If you want to know more about what goes on in the chemical soup that I call a brain then have a trawl through my blog where my life to a degree is unveiled. Enjoy my life - I'm trying to. Rob
This entry was posted in My Ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blue Sky Day

  1. Eleenie says:

    Haha! I like number 8 🙂

Leave a Reply

