A feeling of remorse

A "straight key" style of telegraph ...

If you have ever had to duplicate the transmission of a message because someone didn’t understand your sequence of Dit’s and Dah’s would it mean you’d then be suffering from Re-Morse ?

Morse Code’s inventor Samuel (I’ll leave you to work out his surname…hint it’s not ‘Code’) was born on this day and it is thanks to him that text speak was invented…well probably not exactly but his sequence of Dits and Dah’s (apparently the official term for what most of us know as Dot and Dashes) certainly shortened whole sentences and led to the technical communication revolution that we experience today.

Take Save Our Souls (or should I just say SOS)…everyone knows the international sequence for this is Dit Dit Dit, Dah Dah Dah, Dit Dit Dit (or is that that weird song title by the Police ?)

Good job I’m never likely to ever require to send it as apparently it’s not just the sequence but also the pauses in-between that make the message truly decipherable and with my musical lack of talent the pace I’d probably play it out may mean it would state something completely different – not quite ‘Happy Birthday’ but the Rescue Chopper may remain grounded as ‘O.AM.I.E’ is not quite a call for help sounding instead a bit like the Black Eyed Peas’ frontmans distant cousin !

Even if I did send it who would be there to receive it ? That’s the problem with Morse, unlike text’s which sit on your mobile waiting for the moment you check your messages, if no-one’s listening to you tapping away then it doesn’t matter how accurate or not you are with your Dit’s and Dah’s and your pauses.

There are times when in receipt of a message myself I hear but don’t necessarily listen and that is when things get misinterpreted, I write down the message as I believe it is, I make mistakes by not listening correctly not paying enough attention and it is those mistakes that can be very costly.

I just hope that in my life I am as clear as possible but realise sometimes my own personal sequence of Dit’s and Dah’s may be misconstrued – sometimes though it’s as if the receiver is not on the same wavelength, just not listening or alternatively I have my Dit’s and Dah’s in the wrong order – whatever the reason no matter how important my message doesn’t get through.

Sometimes it is too late to resend the message – the damage is done.

Sometimes I then suffer true remorse.

About Rob

If you want to know more about what goes on in the chemical soup that I call a brain then have a trawl through my blog where my life to a degree is unveiled. Enjoy my life - I'm trying to. Rob
This entry was posted in My Ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A feeling of remorse

  1. jmgoyder says:

    You are such a good person! I love this.

    • Rob says:

      Thank you for your comment and I really do appreciate you thinking so.
      Personally I know this isn’t the view I always appear to portray as some ironically become upset by my attempts to be so but I always strive to be the best I can be, I am not by nature a malicious person and never set out with an intention to upset or anger anyone (particularly those I care about a great deal) – however I don’t consider myself perfect, the only thing I ever succeed 100% at is being me.
      Sometimes no matter how much I try I appear that I’m just not good enough – and it’s at those times that no matter how much I’ve tried it counts for nothing and I don’t feel good at all. Whilst I should be pragmatic and realise you can’t please all of the people all of the time, because those times are often the most important ones, the ones that in reality mean the most to me I feel instead I’m considered the worst person in the world, someone completely worthless – the hurt that causes inside haunts me day and night.

Leave a Reply

