That let down feeling

Sometimes I feel as if I’m a balloon…

“Nobody can be uncheered by a balloon” said Eeyore.

I feel I’ve spent much of my time trying to make others happy, trying to do the right thing to differing degrees of success. Sometimes this is very difficult indeed because other things get in the way. But I believe it’s worth it – isn’t more pleasure gained in my life from knowing I make others happy, isn’t my job as a balloon to cheer people up ? I believe it is.

Generally I do believe I make people happy – sure I don’t manage this all of the time but mostly I truly believe I do. I always try to, maybe sometimes I even try too hard and my good intentions become misplaced but trust me I like to see people smile – it’s a wonderful feeling to see someone smile and even better to know that’s because of you.

Yes I’m a balloon…and I know my job, but before I can do it someone needs to want my cheer just as I need their air within me to lift myself up, to enable me to soar amongst the clouds. I need someone to help breathe life into me, as if for their part they really want to watch me fly. I need someone to find the time for that breath, someone who believes I’m worth it. And sometimes…all it takes is just their one breath, that single breath is the one to me that makes all the difference.

“Nobody can be uncheered by a balloon” said Eeyore.

I can’t say though that it’s always true  – it’s as if sometimes my particular cheer isn’t the type required. And as for me the balloon, that makes me un-cheered myself, because when my balloon doesn’t appear wanted at all, when I’m not worth the effort of even just one breath this balloon then feels downright deflated and miserable. Whether rejection was by intention or pure circumstances doesn’t unfortunately make that feeling of mine any better – because the outcome’s the same – that let down feeling.

About Rob

If you want to know more about what goes on in the chemical soup that I call a brain then have a trawl through my blog where my life to a degree is unveiled. Enjoy my life - I'm trying to. Rob
This entry was posted in My Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to That let down feeling

  1. I really enjoyed this post.

Leave a Reply

