Kollamoolitumarellipawkyrollo

Well I’ve finally cracked it…have you ever met up with someone who’s face you recognise but for the life of you can’t put a name to it ? I don’t mind at all now if I do.

Their name is on the tip of your tongue….it’s er…..er Mr ?….er Mr ‘Whatizname’ ? Now obviously you don’t say Hello Mr Whatizname out loud – that would be rude but you are so desperate to say something.

Well now you can respond with a real name…you don’t have to look blankly at the person…it is official, in fact it has been official for about 80 years or so. The person you knew only as Mr Whatizname is actually ‘Kollamoolitumarellipawkyrollo’ and thus you can quite happily address him as such.

Don’t blame me if he now looks at you as if you’ve lost your mind instead blame Enid Blyton for it was she who informed me of this fact – not directly of course but indirectly through her books including The Faraway Tree and its sequels that I read when I was a child. I recently stumbled across these again by accident a while ago whilst at my mum’s house, how I loved all those books back then, none of which at the time seemed remotely weird or surreal.

I chose to flick through this particular book as I’d just finished reading V for Vendetta in which V reads excerpts from ‘The Magic Faraway Tree’ to Evey Hammond. Two books poles apart in genre and yet connected by reference as V tells Evey about the ‘Land of Do-As-You-Please’.

They said the Beatles were on drugs when they wrote the Yellow Submarine and Sergeant Pepper albums….I would be the last one to cast any aspersions at the lovely Enid but a book that has characters including Kollamoolitumarellipawkyrollo and also has Moonface and Saucepan Man which are light years away from her normal characters such as Julian, Dick, Anne, Georgina and Timmy the dog – it does make me wonder what specific something must have triggered her off the wall musings ?

Anyway, the great thing is apparently however confused you may have made Mr Whatizname (or should I say Kollamoolitumarellipawkyrollo) by the end of your encounter he will have forgotten what you called him anyway – or at least that’s what Enid tells me in her books. You may be still none the wiser…but neither is he.

All I need now is to find a long lost sequel just in case I meet a Mrs Whatzername instead.

About Rob

If you want to know more about what goes on in the chemical soup that I call a brain then have a trawl through my blog where my life to a degree is unveiled. Enjoy my life - I'm trying to. Rob
This entry was posted in My Ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

