When somebody loved me

When somebody loved me, Everything was beautiful
Every hour we spent together lives within my heart
And when she was sad, I was there to dry her tears
And when she was happy, So was I
When she loved me – Sarah McClachlan

How many things in life do we discard or put to one-side ? Sometimes without a thought or sometimes because it not what we want or need right now. Then something further along our journey makes us realise just how important those things really were to us. By then sometimes it’s too late to retrieve and we have forever to live in regret and possibly guilt. We can’t always turn the clock back.

To me the video below sort of sums this up…for those of you not familiar of the character it is Jessie in a scene from Toy Story 2 and although was only meant to represent the sadness of a toy that’s been discarded and forgotten possibly has a much deeper meaning?

It does at least for me have a deeper significance, her rejection acting to me as a metaphor representing the feelings of everything in life I once held dear and let go. But selfishly, more than that worse still it is the feeling I remember being on the other end as recipient of the rejection – the time when somebody said “I don’t really love you anymore”, that feeling that I was worthless, that anxiety of wondering what I did wrong to deserve such pain. The realisation that they couldn’t care less and may never again find the time for me.

I defy anyone who’s ever felt these type of feelings not to be moved, maybe even to tears, by the heartfelt sentiment in the video where Jessie feels just like that.

You can’t hold onto everything in life but seeing this clip again I knew then that there are certain people that no matter what, they are important enough for me to keep close. I need to hang onto these in life because as well as being able to share my laughter they as importantly may therefore also be there to comfort me and wipe away my tears – after all isn’t that what life is all about being there when people need you most, being there because you want to be, making the time rather than making the excuse. Enjoying together the wonderful things in life because why should you ever have to give up on the things that give you so much pleasure.

Where instead of ‘when somebody loved me’, forever and always it remains ‘when somebody loves me’.

About Rob

If you want to know more about what goes on in the chemical soup that I call a brain then have a trawl through my blog where my life to a degree is unveiled. Enjoy my life - I'm trying to. Rob
This entry was posted in My Ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to When somebody loved me

  1. I was thinking Toy Story before you referred to it. I suppose those sentiments are part of the reason the movie was so good.

    • Rob says:

      Yes Pixar seem to create movies that have many levels and thus their worldwide appeal to children and adults alike -thanks for taking the time out to comment
      Rob

  2. liz2you says:

    Do you know what, that movie and your thoughts really moved me; I have never seen Toy Story at all, but understood too well from a personal perspective and a donation perspective. I work for the retail department in a Charity; and although I know practically, she will be loved again with a new owner, emotionally I know it is never the same.
    One cannot expect it to be, I learnt that too by experience.
    Lovely writing.
    Liz

Leave a Reply

