A mouse by any other name

Language is a funny thing…even within the same national variant there are many dialects and therefore the same word can come to mean different things.

I mean take for example the word ‘cat’ …ever since I was a child I have know its alter-ego to be ‘mouser’ or sometimes even ‘kitty’ or ‘pussy’ (you can stop sniggering) but I believe these terms to be relatively universal.

I have even known it to be called a Moggy. But here’s where I get confused because in Nottinghamshire (possibly other places but definitely round here) a Moggy is a term applied to much more than a mere humble cat.

  • First there’s a Miner – apparently Moggy is abbreviated version of Pit Moggy (both of which incidentally are no shorter or easier to say than the original term !)
  • Then there’s the fact that a Moggy is also an affectionate term for a car namely a Morris Minor ( I had to be fair heard of that one before but as to whether that was somebody mis-hearing  a conversation regarding a Pit Moggy and just applying the word to what was presumed to be discussion surrounding his preferred means of transport I’ve no idea).
  • But a Moggy is also a Mouse ! Go figure that one – despite the term alledgedly originating from Lancashire I’d never heard of this meaning until I moved counties.

So when your moggy after driving home in his moggy sees a moggy and gets his moggy to catch it you can sort of grasp why English is said to be one of the most difficult languages to understand…

…. I mean brought up with it man and boy, it even on occasions still has me stumped !

About Rob

If you want to know more about what goes on in the chemical soup that I call a brain then have a trawl through my blog where my life to a degree is unveiled. Enjoy my life - I'm trying to. Rob
This entry was posted in My Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A mouse by any other name

  1. jmgoyder says:

    You are funny and you have really got me thinking – ha!

Leave a Reply

