That sinking feeling …

I guess it happens to a lot of people…well it’s finally happened to me. I don’t believe I’ve done anything wrong, it isn’t as if I believe I am a bad father, but it is from this time, it is from here on in my son will no longer look up to me.

Quicksand Sign

I remember back fifteen and a half years ago when my son was born. He was born a couple of weeks premature and like all those type of babies was tiny.

Just after the birth he was handed to me by one of the midwives. I had my first born cradled in my arms, he was so small he easily fitted in-between the crook of my elbow and bent down palm of my hand. From the top of his head to his feet couldn’t have been more than 12 inches.

Through the years I watched him grow…I smiled when he became taller than his grandparents, my son was literally growing up.

I laughed when he became taller than his mother joking at this rate she would have to now stand on a box if she ever felt the need to clip him round the ear.

Like a beanstalk he continued to grow…he was catching me up.

Then just the other day we stood together in the kitchen – only he was stood on the floor and I was stood in quicksand.

I say I was stood in quicksand because what other rational explanation was there for how he’d actually become taller than me…I looked down to check but all I saw was just his feet planted firmly on the floor next to mine.

I had to face facts… I’m over 6ft but I still had that sinking feeling as if I was becoming the incredible shrinking man…from this moment on my son wouldn’t look up to me anymore – unless of course I borrowed the box from my wife !

About Rob

If you want to know more about what goes on in the chemical soup that I call a brain then have a trawl through my blog where my life to a degree is unveiled. Enjoy my life - I'm trying to. Rob
This entry was posted in My Ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to That sinking feeling …

  1. jmgoyder says:

    This is hilarious. I thought it was going to be gut-wrenching like he didn’t look up to you in terms of respect and all that – thanks for the laugh!

Leave a Reply

