Myoclonic Jerk

The jerk in the title doesn’t refer to some sort of idiot but instead to the brief involuntary twitches encountered when falling asleep. I think the correct terminology for this is Hypnic Jerk but I think Myoclonic sounds so much better.

Now in my personal experience and through conversations after the event with observers, when it happens to me, two things can occur. My brain reacts either just accepting the movement as ‘normal’ and I continue to drift off to sleep or alternatively I jolt bolt upright as if I’ve just been electrocuted.

I think one of the funniest things is to watch someone as they have one of these twitches. I have been party to this and I have to say it made me smile a lot. Maybe it was the late hour or this combined with the fact they were exhausted (I’m taking this in the context of me not being so boring I would ever drive someone to sleep) but whatever was the cause of the event making them to start to drift off into the arms of morpheus it didn’t make it any less amusing when up they bolted like a startled rabbit.

What’s more the look of her face when she saw me there, still watching her, was priceless. A look containing a seemingly endless mixture of embarrassment, confusion, surprise and even disbelief.

And the disbelief was radiating; I could almost see it in her eyes …”Why was he still watching me ?”.

The answer was plain…watching wasn’t about the hilarity I may experience if she woke up because of an involuntary action; it was actually because to have someone you care about so much, to watch them in a state of complete relaxation, to see them surrender to their dreams, to be the last one they set eyes upon before they did, is one of the most beautiful things you can ever witness.

Watching her jolt upright was still funny though !

About Rob

If you want to know more about what goes on in the chemical soup that I call a brain then have a trawl through my blog where my life to a degree is unveiled. Enjoy my life - I'm trying to. Rob
This entry was posted in My Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Myoclonic Jerk

  1. People can be so peaceful when they sleep.

Leave a Reply

