Sound of silence….

‘Hello darkness, my old friend, I’ve come to talk with you again” wrote Paul Simon. When meaningful communication fails then all we are left with is the sound of silence.

It is often difficult in life to put across your thoughts, your dreams, your desires because others do not always comprehend the things you treasure so much in the same way. They are not necessarily opposed to you, just that they too have thoughts, dreams and desires of their own and sometimes find it equally hard to communicate those to you. The world then becomes a silent place.

Although I try very hard to understand and accept the alternate viewpoint, I find myself in this position sometimes, left with a sound of silence; more often than not it ends up with me talking to the darkness because that appears to be the only way I can try to make sense of things.

What I keep coming back to in these conversations is that no matter what I must try to remember one thing…ultimately there are people who I know care about me, who given their own issues, try their best to understand, who try helping in their own ways to ensure my own personal wells of silence don’t echo long to the sound of silent raindrops – people who take the trouble to make me feel as if I actually do matter.

And I’m so glad because they also matter to me…a lot.

About Rob

If you want to know more about what goes on in the chemical soup that I call a brain then have a trawl through my blog where my life to a degree is unveiled. Enjoy my life - I'm trying to. Rob
This entry was posted in My Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sound of silence….

  1. That’s nice. Family and friends are priceless!

Leave a Reply

