Lest I forget….

In my short time of blogging I’ve already passed the 10th post milestone….WOW !

Now to all you seasoned bloggers out there 10 posts is nothing…”wait ‘til you hit 100 or 1000 I hear you cry”.

I was introduced to blogging by the postings from a friend….I’m glad they shared their thoughts on life with me (and obviously 1000’s of others on the www), because it actually got me thinking about how quick we are to forget stuff we think about when at least at the time whatever it was must have been important to us in some fashion.

I mean how many of you have woke up and can remember the dream you were just having…and when you do, often just like many blogs (mine included) is it fair to say there is no set pattern to the dream and the events contained within it can be quite bizarre and random ?

I find that this dream recollection is very short-lived and no matter how hard I try I can’t put the fragmentized events back together again and fully recreate that particular story. If I can share my dream with someone more or less instantly then I do tend to remember it more vividly, although even that memory fades relatively quickly too (is that the same for all or is that just me?). Dream contents according to Freud are manifestations of our deepest desires and anxieties and so therefore must be important.

And so it is with my thoughts which may be merely me dreaming although in a completely lucid and conscious state.

I decided I actually want to be able to look back at my life in five, ten or even twenty year’s time and recollect what I was thinking at the time…what my interests were, my concerns, my goals, who was most important to me; in effect gain a snapshot of my life.

In ‘The Notebook’ by Nicholas Sparks, Allie asks of Noah “Read this to me, and I’ll come back to you.”.  She suffers from ‘Alzheimer’s disease’ and cannot even remember the love of her life.

I never want to forget what’s important to me and a blog I guess is another way of creating a legacy of some of the bits that otherwise may vanish in time.

Lest I forget…..

About Rob

If you want to know more about what goes on in the chemical soup that I call a brain then have a trawl through my blog where my life to a degree is unveiled. Enjoy my life - I'm trying to. Rob
This entry was posted in My Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lest I forget….

  1. simmog says:

    Happy 10th blog….here’s to many many many more

Leave a Reply

