Mr Wakey Wakey Juice

It’s 6:45am and just getting light…not too early but still I could quite easily turn over and pull the quilt around me and have another ten minutes. After all the alarm has only been placed on snooze twice already.

Part of my penance for working from home as opposed to having to get ready for the work commute is being able to dress casually and thus I am generally the first to brave the trip downstairs into the kitchen and switch on possibly the most intrinsically valuable electrical appliance we own – the electric kettle.

“Dad!” my son mumbled as he wandered downstairs in the bleary-eyed state of teenagedom apparently trying his best to prolong the start of the school-day to follow. “What’s for breakfast- I’m starving?”

“Breakfast?” I said in reply, “Well…Mum and I are having coffee” as I poured out a couple of cups.

My wife and I too had only just risen and both of us like my son were yet to gain full cognitive ability. It’s amazing though how the teenage brain in a semi-comatose state still functions better, it is more able to think and adapt…he realised he couldn’t work out for himself what he could have so instead he passes the thought monkey onto my shoulders and expects me to miraculously conjure up choices from a full menu as if somehow our house has suddenly become a five star hotel with me in the role of waiter, chief cook and bottle washer.

I suppose it’s the fault of us as parents. We spend years indoctrinating our children into the fact that ‘breakfast is the most important meal of the day’. This is despite the fact that personally unless it is presented in front of me I sometimes can’t be bothered at such an hour – maybe it is a genetic thing. I do encourage my son to be bright and breezy first thing, but sometimes I need a few hours grasping a cup or two (or five) of coffee to slowly wake myself up.

Still, in an effort to appease my apparently ravenous, potentially starving son, I started offering all the breakfast foods I could think of. Ranging from a cinnamon bagel to scrambled egg, pancakes with maple syrup, even a cheese toastie nothing sounded appetising to him.

…”anything else” he said.

Though not at the top of the Good Parenting Guide List of Responsibilities, in retort at this comment through a mixture of mild exacerbation and disbelief and with my coffee getting tepid, I decided to just take my cup into the lounge and let him starve !

Five minutes later with me half way down my cup of coffee he came in clutching a bowl of Weetos – Breakfast task complete and I didn’t have to lift a finger.

In future mornings maybe I can now leave him to sort himself out and instead be completely focussed on my personal morning friend Mr Wakey Wakey Juice !

About Rob

If you want to know more about what goes on in the chemical soup that I call a brain then have a trawl through my blog where my life to a degree is unveiled. Enjoy my life - I'm trying to. Rob
This entry was posted in My Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

